All Tried and Approved Soldiers~July 1864~the 29th

All Tried and Approved Soldiers~ General Sherman

Day by day Sherman tightens the hold on Atlanta and unleashes raiders throughout Georgia. South central Pennsylvanians again prepare for a rebel invasion as they did a year ago at the time before the Gettysburg battle. Lincoln sends thanks to an elderly woman in Scotland. Belle Boyd arrested– again! A young woman calmly murders the man who killed her lover some months ago.

July 29– Friday– Franklin County, Pennsylvania– “This Evening our men Started with our horses. the Rebs is coming again– great trouble but we have to be giving up and submit [to God’s will].” ~ Diary of Anna Mellinger.

July 29– Friday– Washington, D.C.– “The plaid you send me is just now placed in my hands. I thank you for that pretty and useful present, but still more for those good wishes for myself and our country, which prompted you to present it.” ~ Letter from President Lincoln to Mrs Anne Williamson, age 81, of Edinburgh, Scotland.

President Lincoln

President Lincoln

July 29– Friday– Washington, D. C.– For the third time Federal soldiers arrest Belle Boyd on charges of spying for the Confederacy and she is detained at the Old Capitol Prison.

July 29– Friday– Richmond, Virginia– “Captain Robert Boyce, foreman of the smith shop at the Confederate Arsenal, was charged with cruelly beating a Negro belonging to Thomas M. Jones. It appeared that the Negro, who works in the shop under Boyce’s control, came home Monday evening, what Mr. Jones, Mr. Griffin and other witnesses, who saw him, considered ‘cruelly beaten.’ Mr. Griffin said he was the worst beaten and bruised Negro he had ever seen. Mr. Jones went to see Captain Boyce, who said he had beaten the Negro to ‘make him confess.’ Several workmen in the shop stated that the Negro, having acted in a very suspicious manner about some copper which was subsequently [reported] stolen, Captain Boyce whipped him, in their judgement, not cruelly. . . . The Mayor said the testimony before him was that the Negro had been most cruelly beaten. He should fine the accused $20, and Mr. Jones could carry the matter to the Grand Jury if he thought proper. If the Negroes in the Arsenal committed larcenies, it was the duty of those having control over them to bring them before him, instead of whipping them to make them confess. We do not advocate Negro murder, or cruelty towards Negroes, but certainly it is much better when Negroes are caught stealing to thrash them soundly than to pester the courts with their cases.” ~ Richmond Whig.

July 29– Friday– Petersburg, Virginia– “I have just learned that Colvin will start home this evening and in haste will drop you a few lines to send by him if I can get it to him in time. If not I shall send it by mail. . . . My health is excellent. We are still here at the same place where we have been ever since July 4th. We drawed two months wages yesterday. I now have $53.00 in money and some owing to me. I hope to be able to send you a pretty little sum of money this winter but will keep this now for fear of getting sick again. I am glad to hear that Henry [his son] has a new hat and is so well pleased with it. May God bless you. Pray for me.” ~ Letter from Confederate soldier Marion Hill Fitzpatrick to his wife Amanda.

July 29– Friday– outside Atlanta, Georgia– “McPherson’s death was a great loss to me. I depended much on him. In casting about for a successor I proposed [General Oliver Otis] Howard who is a man of mind and intellect. He is very honest, sincere and moral even to piety, but brave, having lost an arm already. But he was a junior Major General to Hooker who took offense and has gone away. I don’t regret it; he [Hooker] is envious, imperious and braggart. Self prevailed with him and knowing him intimately I honestly preferred Howard. Yesterday’s work justified my choice, for Howard’s disposition and manner elicited the shouts of my old corps, and he at once stepped into the shoes of McPherson and myself. I have now Thomas, Schofield and Howard, all tried and approved soldiers. We are gradually drawing our lines close up to Atlanta, fortifying our front against the bold sallies, and I now have all the cavalry out against the [rail] roads between Atlanta and Macon. I am glad I beat Johnston, for he had the most exalted reputation with our old army as a strategist. Hood is a new man and a fighter and must be watched closer, as he is reckless of the lives of his men. It is wonderful with what faith they adhere to the belief that they whip us on all occasions though we have them now almost penned up in Atlanta. If no reinforcements come I think I will cut them off from all communication with the rest of the confederacy.” ~ Letter from General William Tecumseh Sherman to his wife Ellen.

General Sherman

General Sherman

July 29– Friday– Burge Plantation near Covington, Georgia– “Sleepless nights. The report is that the Yankees have left Covington for Macon, headed by Stoneman, to release prisoners held there. They robbed every house on the road of its provisions, sometimes taking every piece of meat, blankets and wearing apparel, silver and arms of every description. They would take silk dresses and put them under their saddles, and many other things for which they had no use. Is this the way to make us love them and their Union? Let the poor people answer whom they have deprived of every mouthful of meat and of their livestock to make any! Our mills, too, they have burned, destroying an immense amount of property.” ~ Diary of Dolly Sumner Lunt.

copy-of-1860s-clothing

July 29– Friday– New Orleans, Louisiana– “The young woman (whose initials ‘L. J. W.’ are only given) determined on revenge, but kept her resolution to herself lest she should be prevented; and on a subsequent day proceeded to a house where she learned Turner (against whom she seems to have especially directed her revenge) was stopping, and deliberately shot him dead. She thus tells the story: I asked Mrs. Christian if Turner was gone. She pointed to him at the gate, just leaving. I looked at the clock, and it was just 4 1/2 o’clock, P. M. I then walked out into the yard, and as Turner was starting called to him to stop. He turned, and saw I was preparing to shoot him. He started to run. I fired at a distance of about twelve paces, and missed him. I fired again as quickly as possible, and hit him in the back of the head, and he fell on his face and knees. I fired again and hit him in the back, and he fell on his right side. I fired twice more, only one of these shots taking effect. By this time I was within five steps of him, and stood and watched him until he was dead. I then turned round and walked toward the house, and met Mrs. Christian, and her sister, his wife, coming out. They asked me what I did it for. My response was, ‘You know what that man did the 13th of December last—murdered a dear friend of mine. I have been determined to do this deed ever since, and I shall never regret it.’ They said no more to me, but commenced hallooing and blowing a horn. I got my horse and started home, where I shall stay or leave as I choose, going where I please, and saying what I please.” ~ New Orleans Daily Picayune reprints the story of a young woman from Nashville, Tennessee, taking revenge on the rebel who killed her lover because of the man’s loyalty to the Union. [Apparently neither local law enforcement nor Federal troops made any move to arrest her.]

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

